Greenock Morton Supporters' Trust

£30,860 in donations to GMFC

Author Archives: Ryan Deegan

  1. Andy Ritchie Joins the Morton Supporters’ Trust

    Leave a Comment

    We are delighted to announce that – as of last night’s AGM – club legend Andy Ritchie has accepted an invitation to join the Supporters’ Trust as the Trust Patron. Andy succeeds Warren Hawke in the role. As well as being an outstanding figurehead for the Trust, Andy has a wealth of experience in football, both on and off the pitch, as a player, a scout, a coach, a manager, a general manager and in the media. His input will therefore be invaluable in advising the Trust on football matters.

    For an interview with Andy about his role with the Supporters’ Trust, and the supporters’ role in Morton’s bid for promotion, see the exclusive interview in today’s Greenock Telegraph.

  2. The Year in Review

    Leave a Comment

    With the AGM fast approaching, it seems like a good time to update members (and prospective members!) about just how far your £10 per year subscription has taken us this year.

    Whilst the season past was a thoroughly dismal one on the park – behind the scenes Greenock Morton Supporters’ Trust has been extremely active, engaging effectively with supporters, the football club, and the wider community here in Inverclyde.

    In 2013-14, GMST has:

    • Held two fans’ forums, giving Morton fans the opportunity to put their questions directly to the Morton management team, the owners, the Youth Academy and Community Trust, as well as Neil Doncaster, chief executive of the Scottish Professional Football League, who came to speak about the nature and consequences of recent league reconstruction. This has had a practical benefit for disabled supporters, who were able to inform stadium director Crawford Rae about problems around wheelchair access at Sinclair Street, which are currently being resolved.
    • Put on another successful fans’ game, giving supporters the opportunity to play on the pitch, managed by the Morton management team, and alongside Morton ‘legends’, including Warren Hawke, John McNeil, Peter Cormack Jnr, David Hopkin, Jim Hunter and David Wylie.
    • Raised £2000 for the club’s Youth Academy, which the Supporters’ Trust is proud to support.
    • Continued to develop the Greenock Morton Community Trust – a joint charitable enterprise between the Supporters’ Trust and the football club. With the promise of much more to come, in a little under two years, the Community Trust has:
      • Employed a full-time, salaried Community Engagement Manager, a full-time, salaried Employability Manager, a part-time PR manager and several part-time and sessional staff;
      • Delivered football coaching to approximately 1000 boys and girls of all abilities aged 2(!)-16, including free sessions delivered on site in local nursery schools;
      • Developed partnerships with the local council, Active Schools, the SFA and SPFL, local business and agencies, to ensure the best possible service delivery;
      • Secured grant funding from a range of sources to fund Community Trust activities;
      • Embarked upon training and employability schemes for the most disadvantaged and most vulnerable in our community.
    • Supported the GMFC groundsman and kit man with the purchase of new equipment to help them to maintain their exceptionally high standards.
    • Engaged positively with the football club, being consulted by GMFC over a range of decisions affecting the club, with a view possibly to reinstating the role of GMST representative on the GMFC Board of Directors.
    • Attended the GMFC AGM, raising a number of questions on behalf of the Supporters’ Trust and its members.
    • Constituted a more representative board, with three female members – Mary Sellar, Laura Wohlgemuth and Claire Melville joining, alongside Councillor Chris McEleney and Andrew Ward.

    As you can see, we have been working closely with the Community Trust and the football club for the betterment of the local area and to improve the supporters’ experience at Morton, respectively. Keep an eye out over the coming months to see how we hope to stretch your subscription further still. And all for just £10 per year!